South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

Two Davis Cuppers inducted in AITA committee



Mumbai, Nov 10: Former Davis Cup non-playing captains S.P. Misra and Rohit Rajpal were inducted into the All India Tennis Association (AITA) as members of the executive committee for 2014-16 at a meeting here Monday.

This decision was taken in accordance with the international guidelines for involving sportspersons in the management of national sports federations.

The executive committee meeting also reappointed Anand Amritraj as captain for the next year and named Zeeshan Ali coach of the Indian Davis Cup team.

It was also decided that the selection committee will consist only of former Davis Cup or Fed Cup players.

AITA also appointed a four-member sub-committee consisting of Suman Kapur, Rohit Rajpal, Vishal Upal and Hironmoy Chatterjee to speak to the Centre to ensure maximum utilisation of government funds for supporting the players eligible to represent the country at major sporting events in the future.

The committee also agreed to conduct 36 international futures and challenger events for men and women in addition to 10 International Tennis Federation (ITF) Juniors in the next year, thereby, becoming the highest tournament conducting country in Asia.

The 2015 Fed Cup matches were also allotted to the Telangana State Tenis Association.

The executive committee for 2014-16: S.P. Misra (Chairman), Rohit Rajpal, Balram Singh, Zeshan Ali, Nandan Bal.

Replica of Print on your device!

CLICK & Send us 'hi' for Free Subscription

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept