South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

Yuvraj out, Binny and Aaron in for New Zealand tour

Mumbai, Dec 31 (IANS) India's cricket selectors Tuesday dropped Yuvraj Singh and picked rookie all-rounder Stuart Binny and pacer Varun Aaron in the 16-member ODI side for the tour to New Zealand starting Jan 19.

India will be playing five ODIs and two Test matches during the month-long series that will be held from Jan 19 to Feb 18.

Rohit Sharma retained his place in the Test side despite his woeful performance in the two Tests in South Africa while left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha was dropped. Pacer Ishwar Pandey is the only new face in the Test side.

The five ODIs will be held at Napier (Jan 19), Hamilton (Jan 22 and Jan 28), Auckland (Jan 25) and Wellington (Jan 31). The two Tests will be hosted by Auckland (Feb 6-10) and Wellington (Feb 14-18). 

ODIs: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Ishwar Pandey, Stuart Binny, Varun Aaron.

Test series: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishwar Pandey. 

Replica of Print on your device!

CLICK & Send us 'hi' for Free Subscription

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.