South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

Tendulkar sets up Lahli thriller


Lahli (Haryana), Oct 29 (IANS) The Lahli crowd could not have asked for more. Not only did Sachin Tendulkar score his final fifty in the Ranji Trophy, he also put Mumbai in a winning position against Haryana at the Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium here Tuesday.

Mumbai were 201 for six at stumps on day three, needing another 39 runs on a tricky surface to secure a famous win. Tendulkar (55 not out) was the lone specialist batsman remaining with Dhawal Kulkarni (6 not out) holding fort at the other end. 

Haryana, who started day three at 224 for nine, could only add 17 runs to their second innings score, setting the mighty Mumbai a tough target. Zaheer Khan and Vishal Dabholkar bagged four wickets each for the visitors.

Mumbai were off to a bad start in their chase, losing Wasim Jaffer in the second over. Kaustubh Pawar (40) and Ajinkya Rahane (40) steadied the ship before Tendulkar took over the task.

Brief scores:

Group A:

At Rohtak: Haryana 134 all out and 241 all (Sunny Singh 63, Rahul Dewan 44; Zaheer Khan 4/62, Vishal Dabholkar 4/54) vs Mumbai 136 all out (Ajinkya Rahane 51, Dhawal Kulkarni 25 not out; Joginder Sharma 5/16, Mohit Sharma 2/36) and 201 for 6 (Pawar 47, Rahane 40, Tendulkar 55 not out; Sharma 2/65).

At Jamshedpur: Jharkhand vs Delhi – No play

At Mohali: Odisha 205 all out (Govind Podder 42, Girija Rout 38; Harbhajan Singh 6/54, Sandeep Sharma 2/49) and 110 for 2 (Behera 42 not out, Podder 52 not out) vs Punjab 560 for six decl. (Taruwar Kohli 144, Mandeep Singh 175, Amitoze Singh 56 not out, Harbhajan Singh 49 not out; Dhiraj Singh 2/125, Deepak Behera 2/108).

At Nagpur: Vidarbha 85 all out and 218 all out (Fazal 77, Shirvastava 56; Dhurv 5/21) vs Gujarat 304 (Smit Patel 73, Parthiv Patel 65; Shrikant Wagh 4/71, Sumit Ruikar 3/49). Gujarat won by an innings and one run.

Group B:

At Kolkata: Bengal v Baroda – Match called off

At Indore: Madhya Pradesh 510/6 decl. (Satyam Choudhary 239 not out, Mohnish Mishra 97; Karan Sharma 2/114, Hardik Rathod 1/98) vs Railways 335/9 (Rawat 103, Shivakant Shukla 113; Ishwar Pandey 7/84).

At Rajkot: Saurashtra 475/7 decl (Sagar Jogiyani 133, Shitanshu Kotak 65; Ramesh Powar 4/177, Singhvi 2/118) vs Rajasthan 136 and 147/4; Jadeja 3/51).

At Delhi: Tamil Nadu 456/7 decl. (Baba Aparajith 203, Ramaswamy Prasanna 74; Suraj Yadav 2/63, Nishan Singh 2/84) Services 245 for five (Chatterjee 47, Prasanna 74 not out, Rangarajan 2/46).

Group C:

At Guwahati: Assam 323 all out and 13/0 vs. Kerala 362 all out (Nikhilesh Surendran 46, Sanju Samson 211); Konwar 4/94).

At Dharmasala: Himachal Pradesh 558/5 decl (Paras Dogra 209, Rishi Dhawan 89, Bipul Sharma 100 not out; Shadabi Jakati 2/141, Saurabh Bandekar 1/141) v Goa 243 and 38/0.

At Hyderabad: Hyderabad 221 all out and 96/2 (Vihari 13 not out, Ravi Teja 37; Stephen 1/18, Suresh 1/6) vs Andhra 185 all out (Prasanth Kumar 47, Srikar Bharat 29; Ashish Reddy 3/49, Ojha 3/59).

Replica of Print on your device!

CLICK & Send us 'hi' for Free Subscription

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.