South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

Opposition mulls boycott as 12 RS MPs suspended


Tribune News Service

New Delhi, November 29

Fourteen Opposition parties led by the Congress are mulling a possible boycott of the Rajya Sabha after 12 members were suspended for the rest of session for unruly conduct on the last day of the monsoon session. In a joint statement, the parties described the move as “authoritarian” and “unprecedented.” The TMC, even though two of its members were among the MPs suspended, was absent.

Moving the motion, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi said the MPs had indulged in “unprecedented acts of misconduct” on the last day of the 254th session of the Rajya Sabha (monsoon session). He proposed their suspension for the rest of the session. The motion was passed by a voice vote. Asked why Congress MP Partap Bajwa and AAP’s Sanjay Singh were not suspended, official sources said: “Action was only in respect of August 11 incidents. Bajwa and Sanjay Singh’s conduct pertained to August 10.”

Replica of Print on your device!

CLICK & Send us 'hi' for Free Subscription

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.