South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

National Athletics Championship: Amlan wins 200m sprint with meet record


Visa-Home Ad

Hyderabad: Assam’s Amlan Borgohain took the final day’s honours by racing to victory in the 200m men’s sprint with a meet record timing of 20.75 seconds, at the 60th National Open Athletics Championship at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium at Hanamkonda (Warangal), on Sunday.

Amlan’s timing was the second fastest time on Indian soil. Muhammed Anas Yahia (20.63), Dharambir Singh (20.66), Arokia Rajiv (20.66) and Anil Kumar (20.73) have run a faster time over the distance in the history of Indian athletics.


The 23-year-old, who has been living in Hyderabad since 2014, was running his first 200m competition at the National level in 20 months, burst out of the blocks and sped ahead of the pack to break the beam in 20.75 seconds.

Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu triple jumper Praveen Chithravel shared the limelight with the experienced Rajasthan hammer thrower Manju Bala Singh as each of them climbed the podium with career best efforts. The 20-year-old Praveen, whose previous best of 16.51m came on March 16, 2019 and the best this year was 16.39m achieved in Patiala on March 19, nailed the triple jump gold on his first attempt with 16.88m. He is now third in India’s top list behind Renjit Maheswary (17.30m) and Arpinder Singh (17.17m).
He had two other good efforts over 16.74m and 16.79m while Services Abdulla Aboobacker also produced his personal best of 16.84m to take silver in a competition that saw his team-mate Karthik Unnikrishnan equal his career best of 16.80. Asian Games champion Arpinder Singh was sixth with a best effort of 15.91m.

Manju Bala Singh (Rajasthan), a 2014 Asian Games medallist, had five throws over the 60m mark with a career best of 64.42m on her third attempt to claim the women’s Hammer Throw meet record from Hardeep Kaur who set it at 61.67m in 2002. The 32-year-old produced the second best throw by an Indian woman behind Sarita Romit Singh’s National record of 65.25m.

On Sunday, Sarita Romit Singh came up with a 59.58m effort on her last try to edge Railways’ team-mate Jyoti Jakhar Rana to third place. The 31-year old Sarita had accounted for the five best throws until this competition where Manju Bala Singh improved on her previous best of 62.74m she achieved in Lucknow in June 2014.

Kartik Kumar (Services) and Sanjivani Baburao Jadhav (Maharashtra) overcame opening day disappointments to claim gold in the 10,000m events on the final day.

200km walker Chandan Singh and 1500m runner Harmilan Bains were adjudged the best athletes in men and women’s categories respectively while Railways, with 253.5 points, took the overall championship title.

Praveen Chithravel (triple jump)

Manju Bala Singh (hammer throw)

Championships: Men: Services (187.5 points); Women: Railways (157);

Overall: Railways (253.5).

Results: 200m: 1. Amlan Borgohain (Assam) 20.75s (meet record), 2. B Nithin (TN), 3. Nalubothu Shanumaga Srini (AP); Men: 10,000m: 1. Kartik Kumar (Services) (29.42.63); 2. Dharmender (Services), 3. Manoj Kumar (Haryana); Hammer Throw: 1. Damneet Singh (Punjab) 65.65m, 2. Bajinder Singh (Punjab), 3. Sukhdev Singh (Railways); 4x400m relay: 1. Haryana 3.08.86s; 2. Services, 3. Punjab; Triple Jump: 1. Praveen Chitravel (TN), 16.88m, 2. Abdulla Alboobacker (Services), 3. U Karthik (Services);

Women: 10,000m: 1. Sanjivani Baburao Jadhav (Maharashtra) 34.20.03 , 2. Kavita Yadav (Railways), 3. Jyoti (UP); 200m: 1. Archana Suseendran (TN) 23.58s, 2. Taranjeet Kaur (Delhi), 3. Chandra Lekha Anandhan (Railways); Hammer throw: 1. Manju Bala (Rajasthan) 64.42m (Meet Record), 2. Sarita R Singh (Railways), 3. Jyoti Jakhar (Railways); Discus Throw: 1. Navjeet Kaur Dhillon (Punjab) 54.49m, 2. Nidhi Rani (Railways), 3. Gurveer Kaur (Punjab);

Best Athletes: Men: Chandan Singh (20km walk); Women: Harmilan Bains (1500m)

Championships: Men: Services (187.5 points); Women: Railways (157);

Overall: Railways (253.5).

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter.

Replica of Print on your device!

CLICK & Send us 'hi' for Free Subscription

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.