South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

Football World Cup winner’s prize money rises


fifaworldcupbrasil20130921150446_l20130923205701_l -L20131008143628_l20131106134355_l20131109154110_l20131120122700_l20131204132259_l20131206154622_lSalvador (Brazil), Dec 6 (IANS) The 2014 World Cup champions will receive $35 million in prize money, world football's governing body FIFA announced here Thursday.

The value represents a 17 percent increase in the prize money handed to Spain for winning the 2010 tournament in South Africa, reports Xinhua.

FIFA will award the second placed side $25 million while the third will receive $22 million.

Each of the tournament's 32 teams will receive $1.5 million before the tournament begins to help cover their preparation costs.

Another $70 million have been set aside for indemnity payments to clubs who will be without their players during the month-long tournament.

In addition, FIFA has pledged $100 million to a legacy fund for the Brazilian government.

World Cup prize money:

Winners – $35 million

Second – $25 million 

Third – $22 million 

Fourth – $20 million 

Quarterfinals – $14 million 

Round of 16 – $9 million 

Group phase – $8 million 

Replica of Print on your device!

CLICK & Send us 'hi' for Free Subscription

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept