hi INDiA
The Community First

Avery Coonley School wins 3 chess tourneys

chase championship photo20170408184346_l

CHICAGO, IL — Indian children have made a mark at the Illinois state-level chess tournaments.

Shreya Mangalam, Vikram Oberai, Anshul Shetty as also Owen Zhang are now Illinois state champions, thanks to their stellar performances at the 2017 Illinois K-8 Championships that concluded on March 12 in Normal, IL.

By a slender tiebreak differential, Avery Coonley School (ACS) won the Junior High team championship over Chiddix Junior High. Both had 19.5 tallies based on the top four scores, with ACS earning a 121.0 Solkoff to Chiddix 118.0.

Aidan Carey contributed 5.5 to the ACS total while Alex Turk (5.0), Ojas Vasisht (4.5) and Annika Geiersbach (4.5) contributed to the team tally.

Jason Daniels led the Chiddix team with 5.5, supported by 5.0’s from Joseph Suh and Saisuhas Nelaturi, and a handful of 4.0’s.

Wilmette Junior High was just a half point behind, led by Justin Weinzweig’s 6.0 and 4.5’s from Roger Li and Sarah Lin and a 4.0 from Ethan Salazar-Sobin.

In the Elementary (Grades 4-5) section, three teams tied with 18.5 points while two more posted 18.0’s.

Once again, tiebreaks helped Avery Coonley win the top team prize, edging out Evanston’s Lincoln and Normal’s Glenn Elementary.

In the (Grades 2-3) Upper Primary, Westbrook denied ACS a sweep of team championships, with a 21.0 tally, a point better than Colene Hoose and ACS, both with 20.0’s.

In the Lower Primary (Grades K-1), ACS beat Colene Hoose 19.0 to 18.5 to win the top team award.