hi INDiA
South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

BJP names 107 candidates for UP election; Yogi Adityanath to contest from Gorakhpur

Vibha Sharma

Tribune News Service

New Delhi, January 15

UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will contest from Gorakhpur and Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya from Sirathu near Allahabad.

BJP UP in-charge, Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan, and Arun Singh released the list of Phases one and two at the party headquarters in Delhi.

Dharmendra Pradhan addresses a press conference. Tribune photo: Mukesh Aggarwal

They include 57 of the 58 seats in Phase I and 48 of the 55 in Phase II.

Pradhan said discussions are going on on the remaining seats in the two phases and the decision will be taken by party president JP Nadda.

Power Minister Shrikant Sharma will contest from Mathura.

Announcing his name, Arun Singh praised Sharma for his work in the power sector in the state.

Baby Rani Maurya will contest from Agra rural.

‘Damage control’: In first list, BJP gives tickets to 44 OBC candidates in UP

Exuding confidence of winning the upcoming election, Pradhan said Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP in 2014 committed themselves to uplifting and working for the Dalits, poor, backward, women and oppressed in the country. Uttar Pradesh had benefited the most from the government policies for housing, potable water and free foodgrain, Pradhan said.

“With the efforts of the Narendra Modi government and the Yogi Adityanath government, the poor and oppressed have benefited in UP,” he said.

Pradhan also lauded Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath for “good law and order situation and safety of women” in the state, calling his governance “sensitive and effective”.

“I am sure that the people of UP will bless us the same way they had in 2017. We will win the elections with more than 300 seats in the upcoming elections,” he said, adding that the party would also be fielding SC candidates on general seats.

The party decided that Adityanath should contest from Gorakhpur, Pradhan said, adding that he agreed with the decision.

“Any progressive party tries to bring in freshness with some new names, that is what we have tried to do,” Pradhan said.

The 107 names announced today include members from all sections of society, he said, adding that of the 83 sitting MLAs, 63 have been repeated and 20 candidates are new.

“The BJP is a big party, many people come and go,” Pradhan said, in response to the recent resignations by top leaders, including three ministers.

“Many people are also joining the party,” he added.

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.