hi INDiA
South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

35th Annual Day and Diwali Celebration by Gandhi Samaj of Chicago

CHICAGO, IL: Gandhi Samaj of Chicago (GSC) hosted its 35th Annual Diwali Program on Saturday, November 2, 2019 at Ashton Place, 341 75th Street, Willow Brook, IL 60527 from 5-00 p.m. to 11 p.m. Gandhi Samaj of Chicago includes over 120 “Gandhi” families, from Chicago and its close vicinity, who are native of South Gujarat part of India (Surat to Vapi),.

The event started with social hour accompanied by Traditional Gujarati (Indian) Cuisine Dinner, which was followed by a Cultural Program. This is a tradition observed by GSC for last 34 years, where the families come together as a big united family to socialize and attend cultural program organized by the young and adults.

The objectives of GSC are to achieve and promote unity amongst members while helping the community to enhance cultural awareness via educational programs and through celebration of our festivals such as Diwali and Navratri. Their activities include but not limited to the Annual Summer Picnic, Community Service Day, Food Donation Drive, Navratri and Diwali Celebrations and more.

GSC President welcomed all and said, “If you are not a member of GSC, please join us via Membership Page of the website. A warm Diwali wishes for every happiness. May the warmth and splendor of this auspicious occasion, Fill your life with happiness and bright cheer, and bring to you joy and prosperity, for the whole year”.

Ganesh stuti was recited Emcee Tushar Modi and Roma Bhagat, wished Happy Diwali and Prosperous New Year to all. The GSC President Hitesh Gandhi briefed about all programs done during his tenure of two years, He highlighted the help of his entire team. He reqested all current 2018-2019 committee members to join on the stage, and requested the Sponsors to come up on the stage for lamp lighting ceremony. He also invited Dignitaries: Raja Krishnamoorthi, Senater, Consul Gupta, Sunil Shah- Founder President, FIA, George Miller- Syed Hissaini, Pinky/Dinesh Thakkar, Amit Jhingran and all committee members to perform Lamp lighting.

The American National Anthem was recited by Risha Bhagat; followed by recitation of Indian National Anthem by Alpesh Gandhi. Moment of Silence observed for those who have passed this year.

Hitesh Gandhi introduced Sunil Shah and Raja Krishnamoorthi; He offered the plaque to sponsors Raja Krishnamoorthi, Consul Gupta, Sunil Shah, George Miller, Syed Hissaini, Pinky/Dinesh Thakkar, Amit Jhingran, Vinoz Chanamolu and Kevin Morrision.

Tushar Modi and Roma Bhagat took over and started Entertainment Program: A Group Dance performed by Krishna Gandhi, Manya Gandhi, Freya Gandhi, Riya Gandhi. Also Farah Salam, Priya Modi, Naiara Gandhi and Sarena Malhan performed beautiful dances.

President Award – Hiteshbhai made announcement for outstanding work and community service to: Keyur Ghayal, Bhumika Gandhi, Pinky Thakkar, Manhar Gajjar, Roma Bhagat, Ashwin Bodaliya, Ramesh Gandhi, Bharat Ghayal, Dipak Ghayal, Hitesh Gandhi invited team of 2017-18 and 2018-19 and applauded for putting untiring efforts.

Then he invited Kalpana Gandhi President elect for the years 2019-20 and 2020-21. Kalpana Gandhi announced her team as: Vice President- Hitesh Gandhi, Secretary- Pravin Gandhi, Treasurer- Manharbhai Gajjar Directors: Dharmesh Gandhi, Meenaben Gajjar, Jagruti Ghayal, Jamisha Gandhi.

MC Roma and Tushar continued with entertainment program with dance performances by Krishna Gandhi, Manya Gandhi, Freya Gandhi, Riya Gandhi, Hema Shastri, Krishna Gandhi, Manya Gandhi, Freya Gandhi, Riya Gandhi. Also solo performance by Pravin Gandhi.. This was a happy end to annual day proceedings, and all disbursed after Sumptuous Dinner. Everybody enjoyed the program and many couple danced after this also.

The office bearers of GSC are:
President Hitesh Gandhi; Executive Vice President: Dinesh Gandhi; Vice President: Tushar Modi Treasurer: Dharmesh Gandhi; Secretary Jay Gandhi, Cultural Secretary: Roma Bhagat; Directors: Kalpana Gandhi; Dimple Gandhi; Pravin Gandhi; Annie Gandhi; Sandhya Gandhi; Meena Gajjar; Youth Secretary: Radhika Gandhi; Krina Gandhi, Advisory Board: Dinesh Gandhi; and Kaushik Mehta;

Visa-Home Ad

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.