hi INDiA
South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7
Indian Idol

Wijegoonawardene heads Sri Lanka Cricket selection panel


Colombo, April 8 : Former Sri Lanka fast bowler Kapila Wijegoonawardene has replaced Sanath Jayasuriya as the chairman of Sri Lanka's new four-member selection committee.

Two former wicket-keepers Amal Silva and Brendon Kuruppu, and middle-order batsman Hemantha Wickremaratne are the other members of the committee.

The members have replaced the last committee headed by Jayasuriya which resigned last Friday after holding office for the last two years.

Visa-Home Ad

“Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce that the following have been appointed to the National Selection Committee with effect from the 8th of April 2015. Kapila Wijegoonewardene – Chairman; Amal Silva, Brendon Kuruppu, Hemantha Wickramaratne – members."

"The above names were proposed by the Interim Committee and have been ratified by Hon. Navin Dissanayake, Minister of Tourism and Sports,” said a release on the Sri Lanka Cricket website on Wednesday.

Following Sri Lanka's quarter-final exit at the 2015 cricket World Cup, Sports Minister Navin Dissanayake dissolved the Sri Lanka Cricket administration and appointed an interim committee which was headed by former Test batsman Sidath Wettimuny.

The minister and Wettimuny said a change was needed in the committee, which led to the resignation of the Jayasuriya-led five-member panel.

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.