hi INDiA
South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

Big wins for Bhopal, Odisha, Maharashtra


Bhopal, March 19 (IANS) Bhopal, Odisha, Haryana, Maharashtra and Jharkhand won their respective matches in the 4th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2014 (Division A) here Wednesday.

Hockey Bhopal defeated Mumbai Hockey Association 14-1 while Odisha thrashed Chhattisgarh 12-1. Maharashtra defeated Kerala 7-0 while Hockey Haryana defeated Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy by 2-1 in a closely contested match. 

Bhopal built an early pressure on the opponent as Rashmi Singh scored the first goal in the very first minute of the game. Rashmi went on to score fours goals.

In Pool A match, Odisha dominated Chhattisgarh. Odisha converted four penalty corners and eight field goals. Chhattisgarh's Balvinder scored the lone goal in the team’s favour in the 46th minute. Odisha’s captain Lilima Minz and Elin Lakra contributed a total of six goals.

Results of the day

Pool A: Odisha 12 Lilima Minz (4, 27 and 68 min), Nilprojita Majhi (12 and 54 min), Zeera Ekka (15 min), Elin Lakra (21, 36 and 58 min), Dipti Lakra (25 min), Seema Lakra (29 min) and Amubi Devi Ningombam (69 min) Vs. Chhattisgarh 1 Balvinder (46 min).

Haryana 2 Bharti (15 min) and Ritu Rani (64 min) Vs. Madhya Pradesh 1 Shyama Tidgam (48 min)

Pool B: Railway Sports Promotion Board 20 Vandana Katariya (8, 23, 25, 51, 59 and 67min), Deepika (28, 55, 60 and 70 min), Rani (37, 42 and 47 min), Jasjeet Kaur (9 and 64 min), Anupa Barla (1 min), Amandeep Kaur (15 min), Th. Chanchan (21 min), Poonam Rani (41 min) and Soundriya Y (62 min) Vs. Uttar Pradesh 0. 

Pool C: Bhopal 14 Rashmi Singh (1, 32, 43 and 64 min), Jameela Bano (2 and 33 min), Ritusha Arya (3, 34, 37 and 62), S. Ranjika (26, 39 and 55 min) and Reena Katariya (63 min) Vs. Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd. 1 Bhagyashree Agarwal (18 min)

Jharkhand 6 Poonam Barla (14 and 21 min), Binita Xess (31 and 56 min), Anima Minz (37 min) and Lorencia Kerketta (69 min)

Pool D: Maharashtra 7 Vivenda D’Costa (23, 35, 56 and 70 min), Rukhsar Shaikh (30 min), Payal Chumbale (47 min) and Pratibha Sawant (62 min) Vs. Kerala 0

Visa-Home Ad

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.